To Solve A Mystery

Or at least try before failing.


1. I finally did something. Now what?

Well, this is fun.

Or, nervewracking.

I wouldn’t really know. I’m not much of a writer. So why am I here? Well, I’ve been a fan of golden age detection novels for about… let’s say, 4-5 years? It started with Enid Blyton, and The Five Find-Outers, and soon, it became Agatha Christie and the like.

I say the like. The only other golden-age author I can distinctly remember reading is John Dickson Carr, and his plots aren’t very remembered my me. I don’t think remembered is a word, but at this point, I’m too lazy to check. Well, it is a word, not in the way I used it at any rate.

So I suppose that’s why I’m here. One of my cousins introduced me to Detective Conan, otherwise known as Case Closed, and I’ve been hooked ever since. I recently finished my first reading of the series as well.

Since reading Detective Conan, I found myself reading The Kindaichi Case Files, and from there, more mangas, such as the horrifically underrated Q.E.D. and C.M.B. All of these are available to read on Mangadex, and other such sites. I feel like it would be remiss not to thank Irregular Scans, who have been scanlating these mangas for more than 4 years.

Recently, I’ve been on a spree of reading random crime blogs, focused on the Golden Age. These include blogs such as “The Invisible Event“, or “In Search of The Classic Mystery Novel“.

So, what are my plans now? Well, I intend to read more from the ranges of Golden-Age Detective fiction, rather than just these well-known popular authors like Christie, and Carr. I suppose I’ll start off with them, before going in to other reviews. I suppose, if I had to say what I’d start off with, here’s what I’d think.

  1. Detective Conan
  2. Kindaichi Case Files
  3. Q.E.D.
  4. C.M.B.
  5. Agatha Christie
  6. John Dickson Carr
  7. G.K. Chesterton
  8. Death in Paradise
  9. Midsomer Murders

The last three no doubt come as a shock, considering I have mentioned them…. nowhere. But, I’ve read somewhere that Death in Paradise and Midsomer Murders are some of the better fair-play mysteries on the T.V., and Father Brown, I read some years ago and intend to return to.

I suppose I should have a plan for how this is all going to go. So here’s what I think I’ll do. Each review I do, hopefully, will have two parts, Spoiler-Free, and Spoiler-Full. Names are pretty explanatory, in one part, I’ll discuss spoiler-free, and others, spoilers galore! In Rot-13, and white text.

I should also explain the name shouldn’t I? I will naturally, try to solve these mysteries, and I will *hopefully* not fail miserably. Maybe, I’ll make a stream-of-consciousness thing, or something along those lines. But realistically… I’m not a very smart person. Some of these tricks have and will elude me.

Well. I really think that’s it! Now, I suppose all there’s left to do is wait, and see if anyone actually turns up?

Tomorrow, expect some random thoughts from me on something. I don’t know what yet, but be prepared.



4 responses to “1. I finally did something. Now what?”

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere — and good luck on your solving endeavours. I can never decide if I want to solve these mysteries or if I’d rather be blindsided by something I completely overlooked…both are highly enjoyable outcomes, but alas mutually exclusive.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’ve been lurking for a while, and finally decided to do something!
      As for the mysteries part, I say I want to solve them, but I’ll probably forget halfway through about some key detail.

      Like

  2. Hi! I look forward to reading your adventures in solving mysteries. As much as I like trying to solve the mysteries of Christie, Carr, & Co., I find that most of the time I solve a mystery because of a happy accident in noticing details. When I actually try to solve it and focus on the clues and all, I end up burnt out because it feels like annotating To Kill a Mockingbird in 9th grade all over again. So I admire your patience and tenacity!

    Like

    1. Ah thanks! I’m not very tenacious, or patient, as much as I hate to admit it. To be quite honest, I’ll miss a smoking gun, even if it was pointing a bullet at me! I realise that that has nothing to do with the words in question, but it’s a nice analogy, so I’ll keep it. But seriously, thanks for the encouragement!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started